OLYMPIA FIELDS, IL – The top 70 players in the PGA TOUR FedExCup standings are scheduled to play in the 2020 BMW Championship, held Aug. 27-30 at Olympia Fields Country Club in Olympia Fields, Illinois, as they compete to earn one of 30 spots in the season-ending TOUR Championship.

Headlining the star-studded field at the Playoffs’ penultimate event will be defending champion Justin Thomas, whose season includes three wins and ten Top 10 finishes. Thomas is second in points to Dustin Johnson, who reached the top of both the FedExCup Standings and the World Golf Rankings by opening the playoffs with a victory at The Northern Trust. Johnson won the BMW Championship in 2010 and 2016.

Other past champions in the field – all seeking to add their names to the BMW Championship’s historic J.K. Wadley Trophy for a second time – include Rory McIlroy, Jason Day, Marc Leishman and Billy Horschel.  Also competing will be five-time BMW Championship winner Tiger Woods.

Top winners on the PGA TOUR in 2020 – Collin Morikawa (PGA Championship, Workday Charity Open), world No. 2 Jon Rahm (Memorial Tournament) and Bryson DeChambeau (Rocket Mortgage Classic) – will also compete at the 2020 BMW Championship.

“Every year the FedExCup Playoffs offer a world-class field at the BMW Championship,” said Vince Pellegrino, Western Golf Association Senior Vice President of Tournaments. “We are thrilled to once again be showcasing a group of incredible young talent as well as a group of well-established major champions who have been thrilling fans for years.”

This will mark the sixth time the event has been contested at Olympia Fields and the first since 1971. It also marks the 100th anniversary of the first Western Open hosted by Olympia Fields in 1920.

The sole beneficiary of the BMW Championship is the Evans Scholars Foundation, which sends caddies to college on full tuition and housing scholarships. Since 2007, the BMW Championship has raised more than $35 million and helped send more than 3,000 students from across the nation to college.