Golf, Illinois – The 2019 BMW Championship, conducted by the Western Golf Association, will be played at Medinah Country Club in Medinah, Illinois.

The BMW Championship is the penultimate event in the PGA TOUR FedExCup Playoffs, with the TOUR’s top 70 players vying to earn a spot in the season-ending TOUR Championship.

The 2019 BMW Championship will mark the fourth time the WGA’s professional golf event has been contested at Medinah, but the first since 1966.

“Medinah holds an important place in the history of the Western Golf Association and in the history of golf in America,” said Vince Pellegrino, WGA Senior Vice President of Tournaments. “The Ryder Cup, PGA Championship and the U.S. Open all have been played here, and we look forward to adding another memorable chapter to this club’s great history.”

The event will be played on Medinah’s famed Course No. 3, a Tom Bendelow design that has hosted six major championships and the 2012 Ryder Cup; the course is consistently rated one of the finest and most challenging in the United States.

The 2019 BMW Championship will be the fourth time since 2013 that the event is played in the Chicago area, a key market for title sponsor BMW of North America.

Medinah also has been a steadfast supporter of the Evans Scholars Foundation, the sole charity of the BMW Championship.

About Medinah Country Club

Founded in the 1920s by a group of Shriners, Medinah Country Club boasts three golf courses, all originally designed by famed golf course architect Tom Bendelow. The massive 120,000-square foot clubhouse designed by Richard Schmid is a unique architectural blend with Byzantine, Oriental and Louis XIV influences.

Medinah Country Club is one of the Chicago area's best known venues for championship golf. Course No. 3 has the Ryder Cup (2012), three U.S. Opens (1949, 1975, and 1990), two PGA Championships (1999, 2006), three Western Opens (1946, 1962 and 1966), and other events in the pre-PGA Tour era. Players who have won at Medinah include such luminaries as "Lighthorse" Harry Cooper, Gene Sarazen, Byron Nelson, Billy Casper, Gary Player, Hale Irwin and Tiger Woods.

Conducted by the Western Golf Association to benefit the Evans Scholars Foundation, the BMW Championship has received “Tournament of the Year” honors from the PGA TOUR in 2008, 2012, 2013 and 2014.